Faith

March 4, 2015 § Leave a comment

I wanted to preface this post by sharing a little background. This is a personal post (there’s your warning :)) and I wanted to share it for a couple reasons. One, the Lord is good and what He’s been doing in our lives is something we want to tell others as a testimony to His faithfulness. Secondly, this is part of our own story. A Huge part. In our own everyday, we are learning to walk in faith and God has been gracious to us in this. He started this faith walk about 5 years back and we have been able to share this through the beauty of technology (blogging) and feel that it’s time to share the next part of our story. A new chapter, a “change in the winds” (as Jonah likes to say) has been what this year has looked like for us. With that said we are sharing some of what we have been learning in hopes of encouraging another to abandon themselves to a God that wants to grow their faith. And so if you are at that place, or if you simply want to share in our story with us, we pray your heart is encouraged, nevertheless

 It’s March 1st and I am wondering what happened to the first two months of the year. Heading into this month I am bracing myself for the busyness we know it will bring. Jonah has a packed schedule with extra work, which means I have my hands a little fuller with the boys. Added to that anything extra with friends and I know I’m going to blink and it will be April. 

 As I mentioned in my last post, the Lord has been showing us some great things this year. We have both been learning what it means to really pray.

But it’s also been a full season in a different way. There is a fullness that comes with busy living, but a much different fullness when you abide in the Lord. He offers a satisfaction that cannot be matched. Psalm 34:8 says, O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusts in him. I love this verse because it has been exactly that for me. I have tasted His goodness, His love, His comfort and peace that His Spirit brings when you dwell [abide] with Him. Spending time with Him has been a sweetness that the world cannot touch. One taste of His glory and nothing can compare. 

 John 15 teaches us what it means to abide in Christ. Abide in me and I in you, is the command. Not, “I will abide in you, then you will abide in me.”

Actively seeking out the Lord is part of what He expects of us. And you shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13 says. Jonah and I have been seeking Him and He has not failed to show up. In big ways, in small ways, in ways that we cannot deny His presence in our lives. It’s been a rich time for our spirits and is giving deeper roots to our faith. 

 I think one thing that continues to baffle me is the timeliness of how God assures, confirms, provides and shows His goodness. I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Psalm 27:13

It is humbling to receive of His goodness.

Over and over again God has shown us He will take care of us. Looking behind us at these past few years I have witnessed this firsthand. On my timehop app today it pulled up a blogpost that I had written about 5 years ago. It was written in the beginning of a new season for us. A season of new faith. A time when we stepped out with some trepidation to a very big very wide place that made room for ONLY God. The story surrounding that is powerful and we continue to share it as our own testimony. 

Reading the post today made me remember the past 5 years of God’s faithfulness.

I remember thinking how could we step out in faith? Looking back at His provision, His blessings, His grace and love to grow us are enough to make me weep.  

God is good. 

 He is greater than anything we can imagine, and He has plans that are bigger than we can hope for. The latter part of John 10:10 says, I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. 

Abundantly. 

Do you know what that word means? It means plentiful, great quantity, more than enough, lavish.

When I read this I realized how low my expectation was of God’s provision. He not only wants to give us life – but abundant life. How many Christians are walking around living defeated lives and missing the blessing of what a surrendered life in a relationship with Christ looks like? Even beyond that why aren’t we speaking of it? Of the victories He has given us, the blessings He’s graciously poured on us, the healing and sweetness His Spirit brought us? The story that he has (and is) writing of our lives? 

Looking back and seeing how every need was met, wasn’t just that thought alone that struck me. But the fact that I am living an abundant life because of Christ. Every need was met yes, but there are areas where God went above and beyond just provision. He “lavishly” gave us things He knew we desired, or often surprised us unexpectedly. It hasn’t always been easy walking down this path of faith but I can say that it has been worth it.

And to serve a God that delights in giving to us lavishly is humbling as well. I love the reminder of this in Psalm 103:14 For he knows our frame, he remembers we are dust.

He knows how we are made, He knows our frailty and yet He willingly forgives, helps and loves us beyond measure. 

This year for me has been a year of words. Literally, words. To write them, with hand lettering, and to speak them. Our story is still being written and there is so much more I could share about all we are continually learning, as well as details of the past five years. It has not been a smooth road the whole way, I don’t want to be misunderstood. We walked through some valleys and up on some mountains, but through it all He’s been faithful. 

This is the encouragement I wanted to leave with you now. He has greatly encouraged my heart and I wanted to publish His goodness. Because I will publish the name of the Lord and ascribe ye greatness unto our God  Deuteronomy 32:3 

 May your heart be drawn deeper than you can possibly imagine into His own.

-Carrie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Faith at pouredforth.

meta

