Being Home

June 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

Here we are safe and sound at home, our sweet boy asleep in his bed after falling asleep in my arms. What a precious gift he is. Now that he is getting bigger he doesn’t often fall asleep in our arms like he did when he was a wee thing.

I remember right before we left for the DR he fell asleep in my arms and I saw it as a special gift from God before we left for 9 days. God knew I needed that special memory to carry over with me for the next several days.

And now here we are the day after our trip and I was again given this gift- the pleasure of holding our sweet sleeping boy in my arms.

As I was holding him in my arms and singing along to Hillsong’s “Came to My Rescue” I found myself thinking back over the past several days. Merely days have gone by, but it feels like a lifetime. My view of the world, my view of Christianity, love, compassion, giving and salvation has changed.

When we were traveling home last night all I could think about was gettting there- getting to our boy, our home, our clean water and food. I was ready to be home. I was ready to be done with the hot humid weather, the crazy bumpy roads, the palm trees, the rice and bean lunches, the bottled water, cold showers and living from a suitcase.

What I didn’t expect is that I’d miss it.

Yes I even miss the hot, un-airconditioned buildings. Why? For the people there. The people that live with next to nothing, that sit through rain and mud and open air homes, and cook from a fire outside, play with next to nothing for toys. There are so many there, so many faces that we passed by on our bus. So many faces that looked at us, the strange white Americans, but smiled. They waved, they said Hola, they welcomed and received us more than some of my fellow neighbors do here in America.

I guess I didn’t expect to come back feeling broken. Broken for the need to do more. To give more, to love more, listen more.

As I was thinking through this tonight the next song on our playlist came on and perfectly voiced my thoughts- Brandon Heath’s “Follow me”:

You live among the least of these
The weary and the weak
And it would be a tragedy
For me to turn away

All my needs You have supplied
When I was dead, You gave me life
How could I not give it way so freely? 

Chorus:
And I’ll
Follow You into the homes of the broken
Follow You into the world
I’ll meet the needs for the poor 
And needy, God
I’ll follow You into the world

Use my hands 
Use my feet
To make Your Kingdom come
To the corners of the earth
Until Your work is done

Because faith without works is dead
And on the cross, Your blood was shed
So how could we not give it away so freely?

I give all myself 
I give all myself
And I give all myself to You 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Being Home at pouredforth.

meta

