Money

March 2, 2011 § 5 Comments

When it comes to debt, bills, money, I have always prayed for God to meet these needs. All my life I have always had enough. I may not have had an excess, but I had enough. This has been true when I was under my parents roof, and continued to be so when I got married. God has always provided.

My prayer this year has been to be home with my son. This means giving up my job. Giving up the income it provides. This has in itself been the hardest step of faith yet. My heart desires to be at home with our son. My mind sees the bills and needs that our income pays for.

Am I missing something here?

Faith?

I have someone close to me that is also going through a faith journey. In a very real sense. Without giving details as to who they are, they too have come to a place where the money they have coming in will not cover the bills. However they are praying and they are having faith in God’s provision.  I was able to talk to them today, and I was waiting to hear the frustration, and worry. But to my delight there was peace. There was hope, there was praise for God’s provision. For out of nothing He brought what they needed. Isn’t that the way we see it though? Not knowing where money will come from, but trusting that it will come in some way or another, because God provides.

I learned something new today. I learned I may just have to step out not knowing. Having no idea how or when God will bring what we need to cover the things that hold us down- the weight of debt, the needs of a home. It’s time to step out and truly trust. But to live in trust. To live in faith. Faith= knowing Him. Is there anything in all of this world that is more important than knowing Him??

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Money

  • Sasha Johns says:

    God has really taken me from point A to point B on this issue over the last two years. I grew up on assistance. I had a lot of deep seeded financial issues and am still dealing with some of those. But God has really hit home on the “enough” issue these last two years. It’s been a humbling and great journey.

  • Thea says:

    Yes, yes, yes. Five years ago we stood with MPCS contract in hand with the knowledge that being home didn’t work on paper AND an assurance that God was calling me to be home. Hard to reconcile those two things–apart from faith! The One who makes a way has made a way for us. It HAS included tough times–but they aren’t what I’m going to remember about this season. It has been–and is–the sweetest time with my babies!!!

  • Susan Queen says:

    Carrie, Just continue to trust our GREAT GOD!!! I can promise you you will never regret being home with your sweet boy! I didn’t know how we would manage with just one income when we only had Hannah, here we are almost 16 years later with 4 children and God has never failed us. There are sacrifices that have to be made to get by on one income but it is so worth it!!!

  • Keller says:

    Carrie,
    I’m excited to what God does in this new
    Season. My dad used to have a big sign in his office ( he had me make it) it read “step out to find out”. That’s what you are
    Doing and God will bless it!

  • […] the post today made me remember the past 5 years of God’s […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Money at pouredforth.

meta

