snowbound

January 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s been an eventful week. With the freakishly odd snowstorm, followed by the ice-covered roads here in Georgia, we’ve been house bound. It’s rare to get snow here in the south, but amazing to get deep sled-worthy snow.

As I mentioned, we’ve been house bound. Which means staying at home all day for the larger part of the week. Work was cancelled (since we both work at a school) and we had long days together. There was opportunity for sledding and many photos, but there was also a large amount of time for quietness. The kind where you curl up and read and study with a cup of cocoa.

After coming away from our ‘mountaintop’ experience the week before, I feared jumping into the normalcy of life again. Fear that all I had poured out to Jesus, and all He had poured into me would fade, and I would again be walking where I was with Him feeling as though He was just out of reach.

But I truly feel He knew I needed these days. I needed to seek Him in the quietness of the days, filling my mind and heart with His words, studying about Him, learning about Him. And it felt new. I felt renewed. I feel like I have come back to my first love. I’m wrapped up in Him. His Word is so real, so living and I have continued to beg Him to fill me up and make me hungry for His Word.

Ask and receive right? I know He is with me, teaching me and revealing things to me. Stories I’ve read all my life are brand new. I am reading along and wondering why in the world I didn’t remember what I read in years past.

Clarity.

That’s how I can describe this week. Perhaps it was the non-verbalized choice to not turn on the t.v. I can’t remember when we actually turned it on last. Not to say we’ve given it up. Something else pressed. Something we both knew we needed and wanted. I just didn’t want to be distracted by a television blaring irritating commercials, music and antics at me.

I had the need to enter into His presence. I needed to hear from Him. I needed Jesus right beside me like He was that Monday night. I’m holding onto Him and on the edge of my seat listening to what His next words will be.

Quietness. Holy worshipping in the stillness of the day.

I soaked in as much as I could and I am thankful for the time I did so.

On Wednesday of this week we had a small trial that could’ve easily irritated me. Our furnace…in the middle of the coldest week…broke. The time it took to repair it was an entire day later. I could’ve chosen to be upset at the inconvenience of it all, but I silently prayed for help. I knew that this too was to teach me something, so I embraced that fact and moved past myself.

And in the end, I look back and see how there were things to be learned from it all. We ended up overnight at a friend’s house. Dinner with them, games, hot cocoa, a warm crackling fire. We couldn’t have asked for a better night. And we were safe, warm, and had a place to sleep for the night.

It’s so easy to immediately focus on the negative side of things, and I am truly just tired of that part of me. I don’t deserve what I have in my life. I am considered filthy rich by so many in our world.

I have been reading through Francis Chan’s Crazy Love and I was struck by something he mentioned in it:

Do you realize that if you make $4000 a month, you automatically make one hundred times more than the average person on this planet? Simply by purchasing this book, you spent what a majority of people in the world will make in a week’s time.

Really?

And I think it’s okay to be discontent about what I have right now? The things that fill up the rooms, the cupboards, the shelves, the boxes on the shelves, the boxes in the garage?

I am so grateful for what I have. And I praise God for trials, even if this one seems small. Because I learned something from it!

(On another note, my husband also shared his own thoughts and experiences about this past week. He posted here: http://theothersideofbroken.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/dibs-on-the-snowstorm/ the funny thing about it is we did not see what each other had written prior to posting. It’s awesome how we shared similar thoughts and words. I’m so grateful for how Jesus is at work in both of our lives.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading snowbound at pouredforth.

meta

